The New Jersey rockers in Modern Chemistry have been concocting their debut album for quite some time now. After self-releasing three EPs, including 2016’s Dreaming Adjacent produced by Taking Back Sunday’s Adam Lazzara, the band–consisting of Joe Zorzi (vocals, guitar), Brendan Hourican (guitar) and Jesse Slachman (drums)–are finally ready to bring an LP into the world and are doing so with a bang!

Everything In Gold, due out July 7, is a fine collection of songs that embodies the best elements of Modern Chemistry’s sound. Produced by Paul Leavitt (Have Mercy, The Dangerous Summer), the album explores every corner of the band’s talent and truly shows what they’re capable of doing.

“We spent a lot of time crafting these songs,” Zorzi says. “We always worked hard during the writing process, but with the end goal of a full-length album in mind, it felt like we needed something that was cohesive. We wanted to explore all the different aspects of our sound but make sure it all felt like a step in a new direction. This record’s all about taking a step back to look at all of your past mistakes, all of your regrets, and all of your accomplishments. Realizing that no matter what you’re dealing with, there’s a way to become better from it. We feel extremely lucky to be doing what we’re doing. To play songs we care about to audiences all around the country is about as cool as it gets. We just can’t wait to get back out there and play these new songs to both new and familiar faces.”

Today, we are pleased to bring you the exclusive premiere of the band’s new single “Everything In Gold” along with its accompanying music video. The title track is a slow-building tune that opens the debut album perfectly. The video, directed by Anthony Yebra, acts as a semi-trailer for the album.

When asked about the video, Zorzi said:

“We wanted the video to feel like a fever dream. We wanted to focus mainly on visuals that provoked a certain feeling rather than a specific story. The feeling of starting over and letting go of whatever holds you back. It’s loosely based on interesting moments from our own lives that helped shape who we are today.”

Pre-orders for the album are available here. Check out the tracklisting and album art below!

  1. Everything In Gold
  2. The Moment
  3. Pretty Death
  4. Tripping Over You
  5. I Can’t Take Myself Anywhere
  6. Wallpaper
  7. St. Rain
  8. Fever Dream
  9. Sleep Talk
  10. It’s Been A While (Demons)
  11. Tradewinds

Catch Modern Chemistry on tour with Taking Back Sunday and Every Time I Die this summer. Full list of dates below.

Jul 8            House of Independents                               Asbury Park, NJ
Jul 14
         Webster Hall                                              New York, NY
Jul 15          Webster Hall                                              New York, NY
Jul 16          House of Blues                                          Boston, MA
Jul 19          The Masquerade                                       Atlanta, GA
Jul 20          House of Blues #                                       Orlando, FL
Jul 21          Jannus Live                                                 St. Petersburg, FL
Jul 22          Mavericks #                                                Jacksonville, FL
Jul 24          Gas Monkey Live!                                     Dallas, TX
Jul 25          Tricky Falls                                                  El Paso, TX
Jul 26          Rialto Theatre                                             Tucson, AZ
Jul 27          Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Pool              Las Vegas, NV
Jul 28          The Observatory North Park                   San Diego, CA
Jul 29          The Wiltern                                                 Los Angeles, CA
Jul 31          The Catalyst Club                                      Santa Cruz, CA
Aug 01        Ace of Spades                                            Sacramento, CA