Mac DeMarco refines his nutty old ways on “This Old Dog”

845
MAC DEMARCO

Mac DeMarco has proven time and time again that there’s a sensible side to his goofball persona. He embraces getting older in “This Old Dog,” where he contemplates letting youth go with a bittersweet feeling.

In a typically relaxed manner, DeMarco gently strums his acoustic guitar as he serenades to his beloved as opulent strings embellish the sparse ambience. “This old dog ain’t about to forget / All we’ve had and all that’s next,” he sings in the chorus, a reminder that DeMarco is there to care for his significant other at all costs.

“This Old Dog” is just one of the two tracks that DeMarco revealed in anticipation for This Old Dog, his third album and first full-length since 2014’s Salad Days. His latest chronicles how moving from Queens to the West Coast shaped the album’s overall tone. He shares via press release: “I demoed a full album, and as I was moving to the West Coast I thought I’d get to finishing it quickly. But then I realized that moving to a new city, and starting a new life takes time. Usually I just write, record, and put it out; no problem. But this time, I wrote them and they sat. When that happens, you really get to know the songs. It was a different vibe.”

This Old Dog will be released on May 5 via Captured Tracks and is available for pre-order now.

Mac DeMarco Tour Dates:
Fri. March 3 – Okeechobee, FL @ Okeechobee Music & Arts Festival
Fri. March 24 – Boise, ID @ Treefort Music Festival
Sat. March 25 – Boise, ID @ Treefort Music Festival
Fri. Apr. 14 – Indio, CA @ Coachella Valley Music and Arts Festival
Fri. Apr. 21 – Indio, CA @ Coachella Valley Music and Arts Festival
Tue. May 9 – Burlington, VT @ Higher Ground Burlington *
Thu. May 11 – Montreal, QB @ Metropolis *
Sat. May. 13 – Toronto, ON @ Danforth Theater *
Sun. May. 14 – Royal Oak, MI @ Royal Oak Music Theatre *
Mon. May. 15 – Cleveland, OH @ House of Blues – Cleveland *
Tue. May. 16 – Chicago, IL @ Vic Theatre *
Wed. May. 17 – Nashville, TN @ Marathon Music Works *
Fri. May. 19 – Sun. May 21 – Gulf Shores, AL @ Hangout Music Festival at Gulf Shores Beach
Sat. May. 20 – Atlanta, GA @ The Tabernacle *
Sun. May. 21 – Asheville, NC @ Highland Brewing Company *
Mon. May. 22 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Mr. Small’s Theater *
Tue. May. 23 – Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club *
Fri. May 26 – Sun. May 28 – Allston, MA @ Boston Calling Music Festival at Harvard Athletic Fields
Tue. May 30 – London, UK @ O2 Academy Brixton – Sold Out
Wed. May 31 – London, UK @ O2 Academy Brixton
Fri. June 2 – Barcelona, ES @ Primavera Sound
Sun. June 4 – New York, NY @ Governor’s Ball at Randall’s Island Park
Wed. Aug. 9 – Copenhagen, DK @ Den Graa Hal
Thu. Aug. 10 – Oslo, NO @ Oya Festival
Fri. Aug. 11 – Gothenburg, SE @ Way Out West
Sun. Aug. 13 – Prague, CZ @ Meet Factory
Mon. Aug. 14 – Budapest, HU @ Sziget Festival
Tue. Aug. 15 – Vienna, AT @ Arena
Fri. Aug. 18 – Biddinghuizen, NE @ Lowlands Festival
Sun. Aug. 20 – Saint Malo, FR @ La Route du Rock
Wed. Aug. 23 – Zurich, CH @ Zurich Open Air Festival
Tue. Aug. 29 – Newcastle, UK @ The Academy
Wed. Aug. 30 – Edinburgh, UK @ Usher Hall
Fri. Sep. 8 – Berkeley, CA @ Greek Theater
Sat. Sep. 9 – Portland, OR @ Oregon Zoo Amphitheatre
Sun. Sep. 10 – Seattle, WA @ Moore Theatre
Tue. Nov. 7 – Hamburg, DE @ Grunspan
Wed. Nov. 8 – Berlin, DE @ Astra
Fri. Nov. 10 – Cologne, DE @ Kantine
Wed. Nov. 22 – Dublin, IE @ Vicar Street
Thu. Nov. 30 – Amsterdam, NE @ Paradiso