Started by high school friends all the way back in 2008, Salt Lake City, Utah’s Problem Daughter play music that falls somewhere between punk-rock and catchy, upbeat pop-punk melodies. They mix these things together in a way that is more than just the same few chords and screaming, blending together the best parts of gritty punk with structure and melodies to keep you intrigued.

Problem Daughter have made a name for themselves through playing crowded basement rooms, and it shows through their music. Recently, as well, the band were features as the representative for Utah in Kerrang’s United States of Punk feature.

The band is gearing ups o release their new album, Grow Up Trash, via Wiretap Records (home of Divided Heaven, Radar State, Odd Robot, Audi Karate, Spanish Love Songs, etc.) on March 22nd. Today, we have the exclusive premiere of their new single, “Self Amusing Smile,” which you can find below. The track will be available everywhere tomorrow, January 25th.

“My wife hates it here. Salt Lake City suffers from a fuck-ton of inversion, which is pollution trapped between our beautiful mountains. She ended up with pneumonia and every winter is a struggle for her. That’s not the end of it! The state declared a public health crisis for porn. For porn! Fucking dumbasses,” explains Problem Daughter bassist/vocalist Regan Ashton on the new track. “This song is also about a bunch of old ass Mormons still calling the shots and I’m sorry for it. It is destructive and embarrassing. All I can do is try to make it better and be the smile in your dimly lit room…but don’t get me started on that 0.05 BAC. Fucking idiots.”

If you like what you hear from Problem Daughter, you can find them on Facebook, Twitter, and Bandcamp.

Grow Up Trash artwork:

Problem Daughter artwork

Grow Up Trash track-listing:

  1. Pocket Sand
  2. Mercury in Retrograde
  3. Modern Stigmata
  4. Take a Walk on the Mild Side
  5. Jagweed
  6. Self Amusing Smile
  7. Lancaster
  8. A Bastard’s Hope
  9. Tired About It
  10. Gin + Mio