Elder Brother release “Sway” and announce new album ‘Stay Inside’

Indie-rock duo Elder Brother have announced their long-awaited sophomore album. The album will be titled Stay Inside and will be see it’s release on May 18th via Pure Noise Records.

To go along with the announcement – as well as the launch of pre-orders – Elder Brother have released a new song called “Sway,” which can be found at the top of this post. It follows the previously released “No Reason,” which will also appear on Stay Inside.

Stay Inside expands upon the sound that Elder Brother established with their 2014 debut Heavy Head. The album shows refined musicianship and lyricism, with a central theme of drug addiction that has a personal meaning for the band. One half of the duo, Dan Rose says that “Most of the lyrical content on Stay Inside was written on a visit back home for the holidays to Cape Cod, Massachusetts, where my parents still live and where I grew up, and where the opioid crisis has a particularly strong hold. There’s even an HBO documentary about it. Heroin use touches everyone in the area. Whether it’s a first hand experience, or it’s your friend, a family member, a girlfriend or boyfriend, a parent, a child, it’s rare to meet someone that doesn’t have their own story. And despite all of that, addiction is still stigmatized.”

The band toured this past December with Anthony Green, and with a new album on the way, some more shows could be announced. In the meantime, stream “Sway” at the top of the post and check out the album artwork and track-listing below.

stay inside elder brother

1. Greatest Hit
2. No Reason
3. You & Me Forever
4. Sway
5. Unnatural History
6. Weak Days
7. Wish You Were Here
8. I Don’t Miss You
9. Battle
10. Earthbound
11. I Don’t Think It Stops