On All the Way Seattle rock wolves Danny Newcomb and the Sugarmakers have followed up their critically-snogged 2015 debut Masterwish with an album, not just as great, but evoking more depth and expanse in both sound and substance. It’s reminiscent of when Matthew Sweet jumped from indie singer/songwriter to buzz band leader. And similarly, this is probably because All the Way also features delectable layers of riffs and chords from Newcomb along with bandmate Mike McCready (yo Pearl Jam). The latter is releasing new seven-inch vinyl single “King of Nothing” on his label HockeyTalkter Records.

[soundcloud url=”https://api.soundcloud.com/tracks/328510388?secret_token=s-aEIXQ” params=”color=#fa00ff&auto_play=true&hide_related=false&show_comments=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false&show_teaser=true” width=”100%” height=”166″ iframe=”true” /]

Newcomb, a vet of swanky and smart Pac NW garage rock bands Shadow, Goodness, and The Rockfords, has delivered an eleven-track odyssey of fighting against the darkness, and often hanging on by the skin of your teeth. It’s perfect for listening to either on rainy days downtown or walking along the beach on Vashon Island, where he happens to live. Bass player Rick Friel has followed Newcomb to the new band. In Goodness, Newcomb backed by Carrie Akre, but with the Sugarmakers he’s actually out front for the first time.

KEXP’s Program Manager Kevin Cole compared the debut to the Posies and Matthew Sweet, and fans of that kind of visceral power pop won’t be disappointed with ‘All the Way.’ Try ‘King of Nothing’ and it should get you addicted for more of this crunchy guitar slathered combustible.