In July, Julien Baker announced her tour with the reveal that new material would be performed at the shows. It would be some of the first new material from Baker since earlier in the year, so of course fans were thrilled. Now you don’t have to go to a show (although you still should if you get the chance) to hear new music from Baker, as this morning she revealed her second album is coming soon and released the first new single from it. The album is titled Turn Out The Lights, and the song is called “Appointments.”

Baker’s skills on piano and guitar have only improved with time, and “Appointments” is some of her best work yet. The picking of the guitar and the chords of the piano form a moving backdrop for Baker to tell her story over. That story is a powerfully open talk of sorrow and loss, and the titular appointments are Baker seeing a professional to help her work through things as a relationship falls apart. While Baker acknowledges things will probably not work out, the ending sees a glimmer of hope in the fact she believes that things might be alright.

Turn Out The Lights will be Julien Baker’s first full length release while signed to Matador Records. The album is out on October 27 and sports 11 tracks and some fantastic cover artwork. Pre-orders are available here, and you can listen to “Appointments” below.

Turn Out The Lights Track List

  1. Over
  2. Appointments
  3. Turn Out The Lights
  4. Shadowboxing
  5. Sour Breath
  6. Televangelist
  7. Everything That Helps You Sleep
  8. Happy To Be Here
  9. Hurt Less
  10. Even
  11. Claws In Your Back

julien baker album art