Today, Cage the Elephant have announced that their new album, Social Cues, will be released on April 19th via RCA Records.

Social Cues was produced by John Hill (Santigold, Florence + the Machine, Portugal. The Man) and was recorded at Battle Tapes Recording, Blackbird Studio and Sound Emporium in Nashville and The Village Recording Studio in Los Angeles, mixed by Tom Elmhirst and mastered by Randy Merrill in New York City. The album serves as the follow up to their Grammy-winning studio album Tell Me I’m Pretty.

In addition to launching pre-orders, Cage the Elephant has released the first single from Social Cues, “Ready to Let Go.” The song and video — directed by lead singer Matt Shultz — can be found below.

The majority of material found on Social Cues was actually written during the unraveling of Schultz’s relationship. Though a difficult situation, he pushed through by exploring hidden recesses of his psyche, and even creating characters to tell different parts of his very own story. “It can be a vehicle to act out things that are hard to confront,” Schultz begins. “When I’m creating, I try to put myself in a reactive state of improvisational thought. I let images just arise in my mind and wait for it to evoke an emotional response and then when it does, I know I’m on to something. I was watching a lot of Fassbinder films, like World on a Wire and The Bitter Tears of Petra von Kant. I was thinking about their beauty coupled with the graphic surrealism of Aronofsky.”

Cage the Elephant phnt is set to headline Shaky Knees festival in Atlanta on May 4th. However, more 2019 dates from the band are expected to be announced soon.


cage the elephant social cues


  1. Broken Boy
  2. Social Cues
  3. Black Madonna
  4. Night Running (Cage The Elephant, Beck)
  5. Skin and Bones
  6. Ready To Let Go
  7. House of Glass
  8. Love’s the Only Way
  9. The War is Over
  10. Dance Dance
  11. What I’m Becoming
  12. Tokyo Smoke
  13. Goodbye