Soft Center is made up of long-time friends and collaborators Gina Pensiero (songwriter, vocals, guitar) and Sean Lango (guitar, everything else). After playing music together on and off for years since high school, the duo is gearing up to release their new album, No Pattern, this Friday, October 19th.

For the new album, Soft Center enlisted the help of Beau Sorenson (Tune-Yards, Thao and the Get Down Stay Down, Death Cab for Cutie, Sparklehorse) for recording and mixing, while Scott Hull (The Breeders, Bruce Springsteen, Nirvana) was in charge of mastering. The result is a record that is both celebratory and contemplative, tackling these of nostalgia and yearning for the past, as well as the search for meaning in an incredibly disconnected world.

Today, we are excited to be working with Soft Center to premiere their new song “Loose Ends.” The song serves as an upbeat pop-rock tune mixed with a little bit of folk, and if you’re unfamiliar with Soft Center, is a great introduction to the duo. “On a meta level, the song is about examining relationships where you should have just stayed friends. I was sort of in a songwriting rut when I was working on parts of this album and so I gave myself a challenge to try to write about the early aughts, just because it was an intense period of my life and because it felt like I had enough distance from it that I could approach it in kind of a water-under-the-bridge way. I tend to start with a kernel of something that’s personally true for me and then build out a lot of fictional or partly fictional elements because it makes for a better story,” Pensiero explains on “Loose Ends.”

At the top of this post, you will find our premiere of the song — and it’s music video. It partners well with the song’s lyrical content, as the story also matches the essence of moving forward. “We worked closely with our director Anna Lian Tes on the video concept, but at the end of the day, the execution was really all her. It was her idea to have the main character search for an ex’s shirt and burn up a bunch of their stuff, which we thought was brilliant,” says Pensiero.

Below you can find the album artwork and track-listing for No Pattern, and head here to pre-order the release.

No Pattern artwork and track-listing:

soft center no pattern

  1. Alt Endings
  2. Loose Ends
  3. No Pattern
  4. Fireworks
  5. Undressed
  6. 2008
  7. Open for Business
  8. Vote
  9. East Jesus
  10. Temple