Nottingham, UK alternative rock group Catch Fire have announced that their new album, Karma Owes Me a Lifetime of Happiness, will be released on November 16th via Rude Records. The album marks their third release on Rude Records, following a strong of EP’s: 2016’s The Distance I Am From You and 2017’s Love That I Still Miss.

Catch Fire’s KOMALOH was produced by Bob Cooper and mixed by Seth Henderson to provide a refreshing sound for the group. As the title suggests, the album deals with attempting to define the notion of karma — or lack thereof. Drummer Ash Wain expands on this with mentioning that “I have always struggled to believe in this idea that what goes around comes around, because for the most part all I see are bad things happening to good people. It’s a nice idea on paper, and I think that more than anything, it’s a way for people to deal with what comes next after we’re gone, but I’ll believe it when I see it.

To celebrate the announcement, the band have released two new songs — “Malignance” and “Petrifaction.” The former can be found at the top of the post, which is a song that Wain explains as “One of my favourite songs from the record. It’s one of the most progressive, intricate, and interesting songs musically and lyrically, which is why it had to be a single. Lyrically, this song deals with the idea of being on cloud nine, and how through Karma and being a good person, I feel I’ve earned a place there, but there’s no space for me. Seemingly everyone else is more deserving.

The latter single, “Petrifaction,” can be found directly above. “‘Petrifaction’ was the first track we wrote for Karma Owes Me a Lifetime of Happiness, so it set the precedent for the record, stylistically. When Miles (vocalist) played the opening riff, there est of the song write itself really, and it fell into place quite naturally. We loved the swung feel, the grungy vibes, and we couldn’t wait to write more. ‘Petrifaction’s’ lyrics, specifically, are an attempt to reach out to Karma, as if I’ve been forgotten about, to ask why I am bereft of the good I am owed. It also hyperbolizes the idea of feeling that everything that I do, goes wrong,” explains Wain.

Check out the album artwork and track-listing for Karma Owes Me a Lifetime of Happiness below. If you like what you hear from the two singles released so far, you can pre-order the record here.

catch fire album

  1. Petrifaction
  2. Malignance
  3. Fault Line
  4. Stabbing Pains
  5. How Heavily I Breathe
  6. Heist
  7. Bad Behaviour
  8. For Those Who Fear Death
  9. Hostage
  10. Agnostic