All good things must come to an end, but sometimes the ending of one chapter is the perfect chance to begin another. A Lot Like Birds called it a day in February, and drummer Joseph Arrington (also of Sianvar) has already teamed up with Sergio Medina (Stolas, Sianvar, Eidola) and former ALLB vocalist Kurt Travis for the creation of a new project: Royal Coda.

Today, we’re thrilled to be sharing a brand new song from Royal Coda called “Breathe Correct.” “Breathe Correct” follows “Anything To Save” and “Cut Me Under” as the third song the band has released, and it’s the most stripped-back in production, but don’t let that fool you: its aggression lies in its simplicity. It’s the type of song that deserves your full attention in order to experience what the band has to say. “Breathe Correct” is accompanied by a visual that uses glitchy transitions to combine images from a desert, cemetery, and telephone wires by the highway, among other scenes; the result is intriguing and ever-so-slightly unsettling, since we’re never quite sure exactly where we are.

When asked about the song, Medina said: “’Breathe Correct’ was an attempt to write a song stripped away from the chaos I usually approach composing songs with. I wanted to simplify, yet stay entertained. You can see this exemplified in the bridge with the guitar solo. All there is in that section is one bass note repeated, guitar solo over it, and vocals in the distance. Kurt did a fantastic job making the song pop lyrically and vocally.”

Watch the visual for “Breathe Correct” below!

Royal Coda will be releasing their debut self-titled album on April 27 via Blue Swan Records. Royal Coda is now available for pre-order on iTunes and Bandcamp, as well as physical copies; check out the album art and track listing below.

Royal Coda – Royal Coda Track Listing

  1. Blood Thinner
  2. Anything To Save
  3. Cut Me Under
  4. Breathe Correct
  5. De Rein
  6. See Them Faceless
  7. Love Again
  8. Calm and Composed
  9. Cycled Through The Past
  10. Suffolk

Royal Coda will be playing their first two shows on May 19 at Family Vacation Music Festival in Sacramento, CA and May 20 at Chain Reaction in Anaheim, CA. Keep up with the band on Twitter for all updates.