Photo by Arturo Olmos

Long Island 5-piece alternative/indie band The Republic of Wolves is gearing up to release their new album, shrine, on March 27th. It will be the group’s third studio album and their first since 2013’s No Matter How Narrow.

Speaking on the new album, Mason Maggio, the band’s vocalist and guitarist shares, “shrine is our third full-length album, and thus far it feels like the most complete representation of who we are collectively as artists Lyrically, it’s a roughly narrative concept album, drawing inspiration from mythology and folklore, and musically it’s the amalgamation of three years’ worth of ideas and experimentation – all leading to a cohesive body of work that we’re immensely proud of.”

Today we are so pleased to be The Republic of Wolves’ latest single from shrine, “Colored Out,” which you can stream at the end of the post. It is the third song released from the album, following “Mitama” and “Northern Orthodox.”

“Colored Out” is an upbeat track that showcases all of the best parts of The Republic of Wolves. The soothing verses build up an atmospheric sound while leading you towards a massive chorus, as Maggio belts “if we’re just pretending / what the hell’s the truth for?”  On the track, he shares, “’Colored Out’ is one of the more upbeat songs on the record, although it deals with heavy lyrical themes of loss and self-identity. The song initially grew out of a guitar riff that we had written for our 2010 album Varuna, so it has a lot of history for us – but lyrically and instrumentally it developed into something that, I think, embodies the contrasting sounds of this project really well.”

The band has been critically-acclaimed for their uniquely narrative lyrics and layered song structures. Based on the three songs that have been released so far, shrine looks like it will be no different. Below you will find our exclusive stream of “Colored Out,” as well as the album artwork and track-listing for shrine.

the republic of wolves shrine

01. The Canyon
02. Bask
03. Sundials
04. Birdless Cage
05. Mitama
06. Dialogues
07. Northern Orthodox
08. Colored Out
09. Ore
10. Worry If You Want (Yume)
*3 bonus tracks – TBD