It’s hard to believe, but it’s been five years since P!nk released The Truth About Love. In that time a lot has changed, both in the terms of music and in the world at large. While some of the changes have been for the better, there are some that clearly are not, and we still have a long way to go to protect the most vulnerable amongst us. It’s this idea that P!nk explores in her new single “What About Us,” the first track from her upcoming seventh album Beautiful Trauma.

Immediately evident on the track is that P!nk’s vocal abilities are as strong as they’ve ever been, as her voice soars throughout the song. The lyrics, delivered deftly over a piano and beat, talk of broken promises and trust. Given the plural nature of the lyrics and the diverse group of people in the lyric video, it’s pretty evident the track is directed at those currently in power in Washington.

Beautiful Trauma will be released on October 13 through RCA Records. With a voice strong in both ability and message, it’s good to have P!nk back in music. Check out the cover art and track list below.


Credit: Ryan Aylsworth

Beautiful Trauma Track List
01 Beautiful Trauma
02 Revenge
03 Whatever You Want
04 What About Us
05 But We Lost It
06 Barbies
07 Where We Go
08 For Now
09 Secrets
10 Better Life
11 I Am Here
12 Wild Hearts Can’t Be Broken
13 You Get My Love