Multi-platinum sensations Rainbow Kitten Surprise have teamed up with Kacey Musgraves on their new track, “Overtime,” which is out now.

The single marks the latest offering from the North Carolina-bred quartet’s first full-length album in six years, LOVE HATE MUSIC BOX, which is due out May 10, 2024 via Elektra Entertainment and is available to pre-order/pre-save here

Rainbow Kitten Surprise singer/songwriter/frontperson Ela Melo explains: “I really believe in serendipity. I wrote ‘Overtime’ on a Saturday, met Kacey the following Monday, and got up the nerve to ask if she’d be down to lay down some vocals for it on Tuesday. It’s the first time we’ve had a feature on an RKS song and we’re still pinching ourselves that it’s her.”

Listen to “Overtime” below.

fRainbow Kitten Surprise also ecently announced details for their upcoming “Tiny Music Box Tour,” a run of underplay shows that feature differing set lists each night, highlighting material from LOVE HATE MUSIC BOX alongside fan-favorites from throughout the band’s beloved discography. With most dates already sold out, the tour will kick off May 6th in Nashville at Brooklyn Bowl, followed by a show at New York’s Webster Hall on May 9th. Due to overwhelming demand, additional shows have been added to their previously announced 2-night stands in Boston, Austin, and Denver. (Full dates below; additional dates later in the year to be announced soon). Working with Plus 1, $1 per ticket goes towards supporting organizations delivering mental health treatment and access to care.

“Overtime” follows the album’s effervescent, lead single “Superstar” and surprise fan offering “LOL.”

After years of struggling with her own mental health that resulted in writer’s block, on-stage episodes, and tour cancellations, Rainbow Kitten Surprise singer/songwriter/frontperson Ela Melo was properly diagnosed and treated in 2023, vastly improving her quality of life. As if suddenly struck by creative intervention, songs once again poured out of her, writing at least one a day for an entire year and forming the backbone of their 22-track opus LOVE HATE MUSIC BOX. This epic mosaic of sound and emotion was fully realized once the band – guitarists Bozzy Keller and Ethan Goodpaster, drummer Jess Haney and former bassist Charlie Holt – reconvened in the studio, adding another dimension sonically.  

Produced by Daniel Tashian (Kacey Musgraves) along with Konrad Snyder (Noah Kahan) and Melo, the much-anticipated album ponders life’s ups and downs, and traces the turbulent trajectory of relationships, painted out loud in hues of pop, electronic, rock, and hip-hop. As such, it finds the musicians at their most vulnerable, vibrant, and vital.

Tiny Music Box tour dates:

May 6 – Nashville, TN – Brooklyn Bowl Nashville – SOLD OUT

May 9 – New York, NY – Webster Hall – SOLD OUT

May 13 – Boston, MA – Roadrunner – SOLD OUT

May 14 – Boston, MA – Roadrunner – LIMITED TICKETS 

May 15 – Boston, MA – Roadrunner – ADDED NIGHT

May 23 – Austin, TX – ACL Live at Moody Theater – ADDED NIGHT + SOLD OUT

May 24 – Austin, TX – ACL Live at Moody Theater – SOLD OUT

May 25 – Austin, TX – ACL Live at Moody Theater – SOLD OUT

May 30 – Denver, CO – The Mission Ballroom – ADDED NIGHT + SOLD OUT

May 31 – Denver, CO – The Mission Ballroom – SOLD OUT

June 1 – Denver, CO – The Mission Ballroom – SOLD OUT


Rainbow Kitten Surprise


  1. Peter Pan
  2. Sickset
  3. Finalist
  4. LOL
  5. Lucky
  6. Meticulous
  7. Hot Pink Ice Cube
  8. SVO
  9. Code Blue
  10. Overtime (Feat. Kacey Musgraves)
  11. Ghoul
  12. John Woo
  13. Low As We Go
  14. Bearwalk
  15. Superstar
  16. Cinderella
  17. Best Man
  18. Rabbit Run
  19. Daddy Yankee
  20. Re-Entry
  21. No Occasion
  22. Thanks For Coming