Nine time Grammy Award-winner and 2023 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductee Sheryl Crow has shared a new song, “Digging In the Dirt.” The song will appear on her upcoming 11th studio album, Evolution, which will be released on March 29th.

Of course, “Digging in the Dirt” is a cover of the iconic Peter Gabriel song, and Crow’s version even features his vocals. The single is available to stream now but will only be available on the digital deluxe album

Peter’s song is the one that started me on this whole process of making my new album Evolution, the first song I brought to (album producer) Mike Elizondo,” states Crow. “The idea of self-examination to understand our wounds and flaws and how they affect our daily lives really resonated with me, because that process can lead to self-healing. But it can be messy, it feels like digging in the dirt. Peter’s lyrics express that so beautifully, with this just ridiculous groove driving underneath. When he agreed to sing on my cover of “Digging In The Dirt,” it just blew me away, and ironically it ended up being the last song we finished for the album. It’s such an honor to have him perform on this song which really means so much to me, and there is nobody in the world who sings like Peter Gabriel.”

Listen to the song below and head here to pre-order Digging in the Dirt.

Featuring nine new songs, the album is produced by Mike Elizondo (Dr. Dre, Maroon 5, Keith Urban, Gary Clark Jr) and will be released via The Valory Music Group. You can find the album’s full tracklist below.


Sheryl Crow Evolution artwork

Evolution Tracklist:

  1. Alarm Clock
  2. Do It Again
  3. Love Life
  4. You Can’t Change The Weather
  5. Evolution
  6. Where
  7. Don’t Walk Away
  8. Broken Record
  9. Waiting In The Wings
  10. Digging In The Dirt (Digital Deluxe Only)