Today, The Gaslight Anthem have announced that they will be releasing their new album, History Books, on October 27th through their own Rich Mahogany Recordings label via Thirty Tigers. It is the band’s first full-length album since 2014’s Get Hurt and is available for pre-order here.

The Gaslight Anthem have also unveiled the album’s title-track, “History Books,” which finds the frontman Brian Fallon trading duet vocals with longtime band champion and fellow New Jerseyan Bruce Springsteen.

When Bruce Springsteen said I should write a duet for us, I think my head exploded,” says Fallon. “It will never get old to me that one of the greatest songwriters in the world, and one of my hero’s voices, will forever be captured in a song I wrote at a small wooden desk, in October, in New Jersey.”

When you have a band reach any level of success or popularity, that’s a gift,” Fallon continues. “It’s truly a miracle to be able to do your art for a living. Having the band come this far and be able to still find inspiration and connection in our music is a treasure. We’re thrilled to be back, and we thank our fans for allowing us time to regroup.

The song’s release comes alongside an official music video — directed by Kelsey Ayres — which can be viewed below.

History Books — the Gaslight Anthem’s sixth full-length album and first release via their own label — was produced by Grammy Award-winner Peter Katis (The National, Kurt Vile) at his Tarquin Studios in Bridgeport, Connecticut. The record once again finds the brand brining their signature sound of rock n’ roll exploring everything form mortality to mental illness to the more precious dimensions of the human connection.

None of us wanted to make a very somber or serious record showing how much we’ve matured,” says Fallon. “We’ve all changed and grown and learned so much, but the overall mood was a feeling of excitement to be back together and making music that means something to us.”

History Books will also contain the previously released standalone single, “Positive Charge.’

Full album details can be found below, as well as all of The Gaslight Anthem’s upcoming summer and fall tour dates.


The Gaslight Anthem history books artwork

Photo Credit: Kelsey Hunter Ayres


  1. Spider Bites
  2. History Books (feat. Bruce Springsteen)
  3. Autumn
  4. Positive Charge
  5. Michigan, 1975
  6. Little Fires
  7. The Weatherman
  8. Empires
  9. I Live In The Room Above Her
  10. A Lifetime Of Preludes

Tour dates:


29 – Richmond, VA – Over The James *


12 – Washington, PA – Four Chord Music Festival *


14 – Louisville, KY – Bourbon & Beyond *

16 – Grand Rapids, MI – GLC Live at 20 Monroe

17 – Chicago, IL – Riot Fest *

19 – Cleveland, OH – House of Blues Cleveland

20 – Indianapolis, IN – Egyptian Room at Old National Centre

22 – Columbus, OH – Bluestone

23 – Chesterfield, MO – The Factory

24 – Madison, WI – The Sylvee

26 – Oklahoma City, OK – The Criterion

27 – Wichita, KS – The Cotillion

30 – La Vista, NE – Astro Theater


2 – Denver, CO – Fillmore Auditorium

4 – Las Vegas, NV – Brooklyn Bowl Las Vegas

5 – Wheatland, CA – Hard Rock Live Sacramento

7 – Boise, ID – Knitting Factory Boise

8 – Spokane, WA – Knitting Factory Spokane