Toledo, OH singer-songwriter Mat Kerekes (of punk band Citizen) has released a video for “Hawthorne”, the sixth track off his new album, ‘Ruby’. The Johnny Chew-directed video is a bit of a lonely, sad one— it’s a forlorn, restless montage that’s entirely hand-drawn, flashing figures as Kerekes’ urging voice booms in the background, urgent and pleading. Watch below.

Today’s new release comes a week after the release of Kerekes’ second solo album, ‘Ruby’, a 10-track exploration in indie folk/pop that’s worth a listen all the way through. “Since I recorded and produced the album myself, without having anyone talking in my ear, it honestly makes me feel more personally attached to it. It feels like mine,” shared Kerekes.

‘Ruby’ is out now via Elektra Music Group sublabel Black Cement Records. Find it here.

Ruby Tracklisting
1. Ruby
2. Young
3. Diamonds
4. Autumn Dress
5. They Appear At Night
6. Hawthorne
7. Welcome To Crystal Cres
8. Spider Silk
9. One For The Wildflowers
10. An Ode