Australian punk-rockers Tired Lion have made quite the name for themselves in their homeland. What started out as a project writing songs inspired by Sonic Youth, the Pixies, and Smashing Pumpkins, Tired Lion has grown and evolved and turned into something much more. This is a band that has already achieved a laundry list of accomplishments, an Unearthed J Award, some big singles, multiple WA Music Awards, and appearances at Glastonbury, Reading, Leeds, and more — all before releasing their debut full-length album.

Last month, Tired Lion made their debut in the U.S. with the release of the album’s latest single, “Where Were You.” It was a great introduction for the band, as the track is filled with raw emotion and an incredible melody, and has since become a staple in their live shows.

Following that single, we are excited to be premiering their entire new album for you today, titled Dumb Days. The album has already become a fan and critical favorite in their homeland of Australia, where Triple J Radio called it the “album of the week” and three separate tracks (“Dumb Days,” “Fresh,” and “Cinderella Dracula”) all cracked the Billboard top 200 singles.

Dumb Days was recorded over four weeks at the beginning of 2017 in Blackbird Studios in their hometown of Perth. The album is overall about growing up, showcasing the growth that the band members themselves has personally gone through.

Tired Lion front-woman Sophie Hopes explains that “Our debut album Dumb Days was recorded in our hometown Perth W.A  with our favorite engineer Dave Parkin at Blackbird Studios. Produced by frontman Luke Boerdam from Violent Soho the album is a mixed bag of dissatisfied mumblings, whinging, hissy fit chucking, that may even take you back to the dumb days when life seemed more simple and carefree.”

Hope sums up Dumb Days best, and that mixed bag shines all throughout the record. Album opener “Japan” finds the band discussing their dissatisfaction with the mundane of everyday life, the title-track shows a yearning for idyllic simpler times of your childhood, and the album even tackles existential questions in the heavy-hitting “Cilantro.”

Those are just a few standouts, the rest I won’t spoil for you. It’s an incredible punk-rock journey to go on that is always relatable, always loud, and always catchy. You will be tapping your feet from start-to-end, and that’s something you can’t always find too easily. While this is just the debut album from Tired Lion, we already can’t wait to see what is next for the band.

If you like what you hear in the embedded stream of Dumb Days, support Tired Lion and pick up a copy here. The record officially is out now in the U.S. on Play Nice Records.

tired lion dumb days

  1. Japan
  2. Where Were You?
  3. Cinderella Dracula
  4. Camp
  5. Fresh
  6. Dumb Days
  7. Hawaiifive0
  8. Behave
  9. Cilantro
  10. I’ve Been Trying
  11. Med/Moy