It’s been four years since Columbus, Ohio rock band snarls took the world by storm with their infectious debut album, Burst, and took the indie world by storm. It was an impressive feat all things considered — mainly the COVID-19 pandemic — and in addition to becoming indie darlings of sorts, Burst even caught the eye of Louis Tomlinson who wound up taking the band on tour last year.

Now today, snarls have announced their hotly anticipated second full-length album, With Love. The album was produced by Chris Walla (Death Cab for Cutie, Foxing, Ratboys) and will be released on May 3rd. Pre-orders can be found here.

Additionally, snarls have released the album’s lead single, “Heavy Drinker,” to give fans a taste of what is to come. It’s an ode to early snarls, with catchy call-backs and walls of distorted guitars.

It encapsulates everything we love about our band with a fresh take,” they explain on the single.

Watch the music video for “Heavy Drinker” below.

With Love marks the first time any members of snarls have ever left the United States, having been recorded at Walla’s remote studio in Norway. Thematically, snarls tackle empowerment, self reflection, queer love, and more — with every song itself being an expression of love to a friend, lover, or one’s self.

Musically, on With Love snarls weave in and out of hook-driven pop, 90’s alternative, and indie-rock.

Nearly all of With Love was written during sessions when the entire band — vocalist/guitarist Chlo White (she/her), bassist/vocalist Riley Hall (she/her), and guitarist/vocalist Mick Martinez (she/her) —  were in the room together, even down to the lyrics.

We wrote this record during a time of serious introspection for the whole group, and it covers all kinds of topics from love to loss, confidence to self-loathing, all the various ups and downs we’ve gone through in such a transformative period of time,” snarls explains on the album.


Snarls With Love art


  1. With Love
  2. Big Fish
  3. Heavy Drinker
  4. Baby Bangs
  5. Moon Tides
  6. Driving Faster
  7. Wishing Bones
  8. Star Power
  9. Sugar Rush
  10. Ur Song / Lovers Of Valdero