Every once in a while a band comes along that has something really special about them. When you listen, you know immediately that their music is about to connect with listeners and hit something deep; if you let it, it might even change your life. Last year we brought you “Unclean”, a track from Father Mountain‘s split with Overslept, and now the band are back with the music video for “Friends”, which can be seen above.

“Friends” sees the members of Father Mountain- Zane Martin (vocals/ guitar), Travis Cox (bass/ vocals), Jesse French (drums), and Austin Hohiemer (guitar/ vocals)- pull up to and perform at a house party. The band has been compared to everyone from Death Cab For Cutie to Manchester Orchestra, and we think fans of Microwave will enjoy this as well. There’s something rather intimate about the low-key feeling of the video; comprised mostly of close-up shots, it feels like the band are letting us in on a little slice of what their lives are really like. Martin’s motto of “Do what you want, not what you’re told” feels cathartic without being over-the-top in the mold of any one genre; it’s just good, honest music.

In a press release, Hohiemer said of the song:

“This is a song we love that really challenged us in the writing process….We have sometimes had a tendency to write flowery, lengthy songs with a lot of movement. We made a concerted effort to keep this one short and punchy, and allowed ourselves to loosen up a little with the cheesy guitar solo.
It was a lot of fun to track, and I actually ended up playing an old Japanese guitar of Matt’s for the solo. You can hear the way the pickups squealed every time I lifted my fingers. Lyrically, I think it’s one of the more straightforward songs on the record.”


“Friends” comes along with the announcement of Father Mountain’s debut full-length record, Apartment LivingApartment Living will be released on November 10 and is available for pre-order on the band’s website here. The album art and tracklisting can be seen below.

Father Mountain - "Apartment Living"

Father Mountain – Apartment Living– Tracklisting:

  1. Grey
  2. Sobriety
  3. Friends
  4. Grace
  5. Hallelujah
  6. Alabaster
  7. Wait
  8. Grave
  9. Closer
  10. Miracle of ’91

We’ll be sure to keep you in the loop on all things Father Mountain, so make sure you’re following Substream on Twitter so you don’t miss any updates!