Supergroup liv (Lykke Li, others) releases atmospheric single, “Dream Awake”


It’s always exciting when a supergroup comes together and puts out some music. There’s the uncertainty of how so many huge talents and personalities will come together and what their collaboration might sound like or what ideas they might explore. liv, comprised of Lykke Li, Andrew Wyatt, Pontus Winnberg, Björn Yttling, and Jeff Bhasker, has gone with creating a synth-lover’s dream, as evidenced by their new single “Dream Awake.”

Read more: The xx have a new single and a release date for their third album

The video, which you can see below, fits the mood of the song. Over a grainy, spiraling aerial view of a city at night, the song sounds like it’s going to swallow up the Earth. Combine that with some haunting vocal harmonies and stretch it to nearly six minutes, and you’ve got yourself a synth-fueled dream jam.

Give “Dream Awake” a listen below. We certainly hope liv will have more tunes for us in the future, and we’ll keep you updated on any rumblings from the band.