American Football announce first album in 17 years, share new single

American Football

Few bands from the world of emo have been praised, honored, otherwise respected like American Football. The Illinois-based band has spent the majority of the new millennium on hiatus, but as of today that is no longer the case. After days of sharing mysterious video clips online the group has announced plans to release their first album in 17 years, and they’ve even shared a new song you can hear a bit further down in this post.

Set for release on October 21, the new album from American Football will be a self-titled release, which means the band’s latest album will have the same name as their first album. Polyvinyl Records will handle the release in the U.S. and Wichita Recordings will handle the record in the UK and Europe. You can listen to the lead single, “I’ve Been So Lost For So Long,” below, and also find the album’s artwork and track list.

American Football
Track list:
01 Where Are We Now?
02 My Instincts Are the Enemy
03 Home Is Where the Haunt Is
04 Born to Lose
05 I’ve Been So Lost for So Long
06 Give Me the Gun
07 I Need a Drink (or Two or Three)
08 Desire Gets in the Way
09 Everyone Is Dressed Up

American Football—comprised of Steve Holmes, Mike Kinsella, Nate Kinsella, and Steve Lamos—recorded their new album earlier this year at ARC Studios in Omaha and SHIRK Studios in Chicago. It was produced by the band and Jason Cupp.

There are currently only a small handful of shows on the American Football tour itinerary, but if we had to guess we would say more dates are likely on the way. The band has not been a full-time project in quite some time, but with the right amount of support they could soon resume that lifestyle (if they so desired). Current dates are as follows:

10-29 Chicago, IL – Vic Theatre
01-28 New York, NY – Terminal 5
02-11 London, England – Shepherd’s Bush Empire
02-25 Los Angeles, CA – The Ace Hotel Theatre