The World is a Beautiful Place & I Am No Longer Afraid to Die detail ‘Harmlessness,’ premiere video

The World is a Beautiful Place & I Am No Longer Afraid to Die have announced that they will release their new full-length, Harmlessness, on Sep. 25. The album will be the band’s first for Epitaph Records. The Connecticut emo outfit signed to the label earlier this year.

The World is a Beautiful Place also premiered a video for the album’s first single at NPR. View “January 10th, 2014” below.

“The character in [“January 10, 2014″], Diana, is based on the story of a woman from Ciudad Juarez, Mexico who avenged unprosecuted and largely ignored sexual assaults being committed by bus drivers on their routes,” explained vocalist David Bello. “The video replaces the real life Diana with Dianic Wiccans who protect themselves using hexes and their own spirituality. The male character in the video is a predator, and therefore must be destroyed.” Christopher Good directed the video.

The World is a Beautiful Place most recently released a pair of EPs, and Harmlessness is the follow-up full-length to 2013’s Whenever, If Ever.

“‘Harmlessness’ is a state to be achieved and an ethos that fits with the open spirit of being ‘formless,'” said vocalist and guitarist Derrick Shanholtzer-Dvorak, referring also to the title of the band’s first EP, Formlessness, which has more or less come to define the rotating cast of musicians in the band’s lineup. In addition to Dvorak and Bello, the members on Harmlessness also include bassist Josh Cyr, drummer Steven Buttery, guitarist Chris Teti, guitarist Tyler Bussey, and keyboardist Katie Shanholtzer-Dvorak.

See the album’s art and track list, and the band’s upcoming tour dates with Pianos Become the Teeth, below.

Harmlessness Track List

  1. You Can’t Live There Forever
  2. blank #11
  3. January 10th, 2014
  4. The Word Lisa
  5. Rage Against the Dying of the Light
  6. Ra Patera Dance
  7. Mental Health
  8. Wendover
  9. We Need More Skulls
  10. Haircuts for Everybody
  11. Willie (For Howard)
  12. I Can Be Afraid of Anything
  13. Mount Hum

Harmlessness Art

Pianos and The World is Tour Poster