Don’t miss the debut full-length ‘Sifting Through Sadness’ from Rising Fawn

photo: Alexa Modisette

Shifting Through Sadness came out today and it’s a hauntingly beautiful album that you don’t want to miss out on. Rising Fawn is the side project of Chauntelle DuPree-D’Agostino of Eisley with her husband Tony D’Agostino who owns Larose Guitars.

The duo, from Tyler, Texas, is signed to Equal Vision Records imprint Rory Records, created by Say Anything’s Max Bemis.

On August 26, Rising Fawn premiered their first single “Jeremy Enigk” via Artist Direct.

DuPree-D’Agostino tells the story behind of “Jeremy Enigk: “This song is about a dream I had years ago. I woke up and wrote it down. It basically explains my relationship with The Lord. I believe He is THE creator of all things. He is THE artist and we are the work of His hands. Therefore, I strive daily to be in His will; To be a “vessel in motion”. I find my purpose in Him. The name of the song came about years later as I was working it out with my guitar and the chords and melody reminded my of something Jeremy Enigk would write, so I named it after him, just as a demo. I’ve always been a fan of everything Mr. Enigk has done and he’s an artist that I’ve always thought deserved more attention then he received! So I decided to keep the demo name, in honor of him!”

The album was written and recorded in 2014 in Texas at Eisley’s home studio. Shifting Through Sadness was mixed and mastered by Darren King of Mutemath. The full-length features guest instrumentation and vocals from Christie Dupree of Merriment, Benis, Sherri DuPree-Bemis of Eisley and King.

DuPree-D’Agostino describes Shifting Through Sadness as “an intimate expression of sadness mixed with glimmers of hope and love. It’s about longing and loss and moving on.” The full-length is calming and sends the listener on a journey.

Sifting Through Sadness is available for purchase here.

1. “Shadows”
2. “Cedar Branches”
3. “Jeremy Enigk”
4. “Sifting Through Sadness”
5. “Spector”
6. “Wake up”
7. “Of All the Charms”
8. “Ours for Taking”
9. “Forsaking Calamity”

Bonus track: “Hempstead”

rising fawn