Baroness’ ‘Purple’ coming in December—hear the 7-minute “Chlorine & Wine” now

photo: Jimmy Hubbard

Georgia metal outfit Baroness has pulled back the curtain on their latest effort. TItled Purple, the 10-song album, produced by Dave Fridmann (the Flaming Lips, Thursday) will be released on Dec. 18 via their own label, Abraxan Hymns, marking the first time the band has released a full-length without the help of Relapse Records. The quartet dropped a new track, “Chlorine & Wine,” along with the announcement, and it’s seven minutes of everything you love about Baroness: sludgy riffs propelled by John Baizley’s melodic baritone (that at times switches into a roar so guttural, dinosaurs are jealous), and plenty of guitar leads that, when all put together, just sounds goddamn triumphant. Hear the new song and peep the tracklisting below, then pre-order Baroness’ Purple here:

Purple track list:
1. Morningstar
2. Shock Me
3. Try to Disappear
4. Kerosene
5. Fugue
6. Chlorine & Wine
7. The Iron Bell
8. Desperation Burns
9. If I Have to Wake Up (Would You Stop the Rain)
10. Crossroads of Infinity