The Crash Years – ‘Cope’ (Review)


The alternative rock band known as The Crash Years, is set to release their new EP, Cope, on February 4th, 2014. This EP is following the release of a full album titled, Disposition, that was released in early 2013. The band consists of Joel Cox (Keys/Vocals), Tyler Brantley (Guitar), Ethan Watkins (Bass), Drake Kent (Drums), and Trey Brantley (Guitar). The Crash Years was formed in late 2011.

This album is driven by piano chords and relatable lyrics. The first track, “Intro,” kicks off the EP with a piano focused song with light vocals asking for a girl to prove the singer wrong. It is one of the slower moving songs on the EP. The next track is titled, “Relentless,” and is one of the leading singles. It is a full band, up beat piece with a great bridge in the middle of the song, and great vocals by singer Joel Cox. This track showcases the talent and ability of this band. Another strong track from this record is titled, “Always Wrong.” This is one of the tracks with very relatable lyrics and heavy instruments throughout. Joel Cox sings, “I don’t think I’ll ever be over you,” and that is something that almost every listener will be able to relate to. The EP closes with the track “Cope,” and is a perfect closing track. This song is a perfect representation of the music that this group makes. “Cope” is another leading track on this EP.

This EP is definitely worth checking out when it is released on February 4th. The album is an easy on the ears record with soothing lyrics. If one thing could be changed though, it would be to have had a cleaner recording of instruments.


Preorder the EP on iTunes here:


Website / Facebook / Twitter



Review by Emily Bowman