Pop-rock outfit ROOKIE OF THE YEAR have announced their new album The Goodnight Moon: Part II – their first full-band effort since 2008’s Sweet Attention – and have also premiered the third single from the album entitled “Save Me.” It’s been quite some time since ROTY has made a full-band record, having ridden the wave of Ryan Dunson’s solo work from 2009-2012. The Goodnight Moon: Part II dramatically showcases the seven years since Part I, which was released in 2006 on One Eleven Records. Ryan Dunson – the band’s founder, chief songwriter, and sole stationary member throughout its existence – made the call in late 2012 to start work on a collaborative album that would act as the sequel to the band’s debut full-length. The Goodnight Moon: Part II depicts a more intricate and defined form of ROTY, while also revisiting the pop roots that gave the band their initial acclaim in 2006.

After releasing Sweet Attention in 2008 via One Eleven Records, the band drifted apart to pursue separate avenues. Dunson, however, kept writing songs under the same name and eventually released solo albums The Most Beautiful in 2010 via Future Destination Records and Along for the Ride independently in 2011. Since then, Dunson has not only continued writing, but also re-connected with his former bandmates and producer Matt Malpass.

“Working and writing with new producer Steve Sopchak and old friend Matt Malpass (also produced The Goodnight Moon and Sweet Attention) was quite amazing,” says Dunson. “It was great to revisit my roots while at the same time pushing my musical boundaries.”

The Goodnight Moon: Part II will officially drop on August 13th, and will be released independently. The album was produced by Steve Sopchak and Matt Malpass (Lydia, Copeland, Dance Gavin Dance) at The Square Studio in Syracuse, NY and Marigolds and Monsters in Atlanta, GA.

“The new record definitely starts off where The Goonight Moon ended,” continues Ryan Dunson. “There was so much more to talk about when that record was finished, so it was fun to bring back that style and emotion for Part II. Almost like a ‘new and improved’ rendition of Part I.”

Fans can expect national tour dates to be announced in the coming weeks. For more information on Rookie of the Year, follow the band on Facebook and Twitter.





1.     Everything

2.     Love/ME/Crazy

3.     Light Years Away

4.     Three Words

5.     Wild and Free (The Way it Goes)

6.     Colors of Summer

7.     Save Me

8.     Leave it All Behind

9.     Raleigh

10. Love and War

11. 444